Château Bas d'Aumelas
The story of Château-Bas begins in the fourteenth century. In 1595, Sir Bonnet, the lord of the place at the time, decides to settle in Château-Bas. It was a farm then, belonging to the castle of Aumelas, situated about half a mile away, on a hillside. The farm is mainly dedicated to pastoral activity, but also vinegrowing. The lord of Château-Bas undertakes to transform the building, and turns it into a lovely castle, with two round towers, and outbuildings. The d’Albenas family has owned the castle for several centuries. As a remain of the religious wars, Château-Bas has been fully renovated, in tune with its rich history.
Jean-Philippe and Geoffroy, the two sons of the family, have started up vinegrowing again, giving back to the domain its original activity. Together they farm 42 acres of vineyards in AOC Côteaux du Languedoc, choosing to practice environment-friendly agriculture. They restored the old plots that laid fallow to their former vocation. Gradually, terraces were built on the slopes. This soil enjoys a very specific climate, that is ideal for an optimum maturation. The grapes are grown by hand, according to organic agriculture, in order to preserve the biodiversity within the vineyards. Old methods and modern processes go hand in hand to provide a better aroma extraction from the grapes.
Le Château Bas Blanc
Le Château Bas Rouge